

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

JOINT ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Open Session
October 26, 2018
Anne Arundel Hall, Blackistone Room



BOARD OF TRUSTEES JOINT ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

OPEN SESSION REPORT SUMMARY

Date of Meeting: October 26, 2018	Date of Next Meeting: TBD
	er, Board Chair Sven Holmes, Glen Ives, President Tuajuanda Alcazar, John Bell '95, Peg Duchesne '77, Elizabeth Graves
Dashboard Metrics:	
N/A	
Executive Summary:	
DISCUSSION ITEMS: Core Development Workgroup update on the L	EAD Curriculum Initiative.
Action Item(s) related to specific strategic pla	n goals as appropriate:
N/A	



BOARD OF TRUSTEES JOINT ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEES MEETING OF OCTOBER 26, 2018

OPEN SESSION AGENDA

T	CALL	$T \cap$	\mathbf{ODD}	$\mathbf{F}\mathbf{D}$
	$\mathbf{L}\mathbf{A}\mathbf{L}\mathbf{L}$	1()	UKD	r, K

- II. **DISCUSSION ITEMS The LEAD Curriculum Initiative** (formerly The Honors College 2.0 Initiative)
 - A. Opening Remarks (Leonard Brown and Michael Wick)
 - **B.** Core Development Workgroup LEAD Curriculum Update (*Dave Kung*)
 - C. Question and Answer Period

III. INFORMATION ITEMS

A. Meeting Minutes of May 11, 2018

Page 1



BOARD OF TRUSTEES JOINT OPEN SESSION ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEES

MINUTES

Date of Meeting: May 11, 2018 Status of Minutes: AAC Approved May 23, 2018

Academic Affairs Committee Members Present: Chair Peter Bruns, Susan Dyer, Board Chair Sven Holmes,

President Tuajuanda Jordan, Larry Leak '76

Committee Members Absent: John Bullock, Glen Ives, Ann McDaniel

Student Affairs Committee Members Present: Co-Chair Cindy Broyles'79, Carlos Alcazar, John Bell'95, Elizabeth Graves'95, Board Chair Sven Holmes, President Tuajuanda Jordan, Larry Leak'76, Sharon Phillips'18, Danielle Troyan'92

Committee Members Absent: Lex Birney, Peg Duchesne '77

Others Present: John Ahearn'76, Aileen Bailey, Anne Marie Brady, Leonard Brown, Donny Bryan '73, Karen Crawford, Carolyn Curry, Michael Dunn, Misty Frantz, Cynthia Gross, Gail Harmon, Anne Harvey-Diggs, David Hautanen, Charles Jackson, Dave Kung, Todd Mattingly, Kortet Mensah, Gretchen Phillips, Joan Pickett, Kate Shirey, Morgan Smith, FJ Talley, Allan Wagaman'06, Michael Wick, Christine Wooley, Anna Yates

Executive Summary:

Meeting was called to order at 9:45 a.m.

Discussion Items:

Provost Wick, and Dean of Students, Leonard Brown provided a report on the progress of the Honors College 2.0 Initiative. Dr. Wick and Dean Brown summarized the major milestones which included an external partner planning retreat, SKIL 100 Pilot for the fall semester, and approval of SKIL 100/101. Next year four courses will be offered: two in the fall and two in the spring semester. The Provost was charged by the faculty to create a committee of faculty and staff to work over the summer to develop a detailed proposal for a revised core curriculum. Plans for the workgroup are underway. Dr. Aileen Bailey, chair of the Ad Hoc Core Curriculum Committee (AHCCC), discussed the process used to develop a conceptual framework and identify needs in the curriculum. Input and feedback from the campus community was used to identify the skills and literacies that the College values. The AHCCC recommended Signature Pathways along with a Classic Liberal Arts Pathway which would provide flexibility for transfer students, while meeting the needs and interests of current students. Dean Brown discussed the Honors College 2.0 Framework, outlining the required lower and upper level experiences and professional literacy. Kate Shirey provided an update on the Framework for SKIL 100/101. Peer advisors have been hired and summer training is scheduled. Adjunct instructors are currently being interviewed. There were questions about the number of sections and adjuncts to be hired. Dean Brown noted that there is a community network to hire adjuncts. Chair Bruns inquired about the model over the next three years. The model will not be the same as the first year, which is resource intensive. The Academic Planning Committee, Ad Hoc Core Curriculum Committee and Professional Skills Development Team were acknowledged for their hard work. Aileen Bailey, Kate Shirey, and José Ballesteros were thanked for their service.

The meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.